facebook twitter youtube



The Greater Essex County District School Board was formed on January 1, 1998 with the amalgamation of the Windsor and Essex County Boards of Education. We have schools in nine municipalities: Windsor, LaSalle, Amherstburg, Tecumseh, Lakeshore, Essex, Kingsville, Leamington and Pelee Island. For the 2015-16 school year the GECDSB will operate 72 schools – 56 elementary and 16 secondary plus an adult education program and three Agency schools. We have approximately 35,500 students served by 4,700 employees. The Board’s annual operating budget is in excess of $400 million.

The Director of Education, Ms. Erin Kelly, is supported by a group of 9 Superintendents. There are 10 Trustees which make up the Board of Trustees and they meet in public session once each month during the school year. The Chairperson is Mrs. Connie Buckler.​​

Our Mission

The Greater Essex County District School Board, in partnership with the community, provides learning opportunities which support, challenge and inspire all students to achieve their full potential and enable them to participate meaningfully in their communities.

Discover Me / International Students GECDSB

The Greater Essex County District School Board welcomes students from around the world.